This publication contains 156 brief biographical
sketches of Fort Wayne pioneers and civic leaders who
are interred in Linden wood Cemetery. They were
originally published in the Fort Wayne Newspapers and
later compiled into three booklets issued by the Fort
Wayne Public Library in 1973, 1976 and 1978.
Research and writing for these capsule biographies was
done by Arthur M. Paulison and many of the drawings
were by Morris R. Perry.
Funding for this book was provided by the Lindenwood
Thomas W. Pehike
Digitized by the Internet Archive
in 2017 with funding from
Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center '
Calvin Anderson (1803-1897) was one of Fort
Wayne's well known pioneer businessmen. He
came here in 1846 from Ohio to lease and manage
the celebrated Heidekin House which stood on Barr
St., between Columbia and Main.
In 1855, Mr. Anderson entered the grocery busi-
ness which he successfully operated until 1867,
when he retired. He cast his first vote in 1824 for
John Quincy Adams for president. Eli G. Anderson,
a son, for many years managed the Anderson Tea &
Coffee Co., at Broadway and Jefferson.
The Andersons were members of the First Presby-
Francis S. Aveline (1814-1865) is best remem-
bered in Fort Wayne's early history for the con-
struction of the old Aveline Hotel which stood at
the southeast corner of Calhoun and Berry from
1863 until 1908. The hotel was destroyed by
f:re May 3, 1908, in one of the city's worst re-
corded tragedies. Twelve of 61 guests perished.
The Aveline in its time sheltered some of the
Nation's great dignitaries — Blaine, McKinley,
Bryan, Taggart, Tom Marshall, Beveridge and
Fairbanks. Aveline came here from Vincennes.
He, along with Francis Comparet, built the res-
ervoir now known as Sylvan Lake, Rome City.
FOR 15 YEARS
Harry W. Baals (1886-1954) was a native of Fort
Wayne, and first entered public life in 1922 as post-
master, serving in that office for nine years. He was
elected mayor in 1934, and re-elected forthree suc-
cessive terms. In 1947 he did not stand for re-elec-
tion but in 1951 emerged from political retirement
and was elected to his fourth term.
One of his goals was elevation of the Nickel Plate.
He turned the first shovel of dirt In the project, but
did not live to see its fulfullment. He was first em-
ployed by GE in 1901 , and remained there 21 years.
He was an ardent Republican and his political
strength lay in his understanding and respect of
.y' .. , , - '
WORLD WAR 1 ACE
Paul Frank Baer, 37, native of Fort Wayne, who
rose to become America's first World War I ace,
lost his life at Shanghai, December 9 ,1930, when
a mail plane he was flying crashed during take-off.
His body was brought to Fort Wayne where the
city accorded him the largest military funeral in
He served first with the French Air Service and
then with the U.S. 103rd Aero Squadron. Within
45 days after he began combat flying, he had
downed 16 German planes, receiving official credit
for 9. France gave him her Legion of Honor and
Croix-de-Guerre. He was the first aviator to re-
ceive the U.S. Distinguished Service Cross. Fort
Wayne's municipal airport terminal was named for
Judge Peter P. Bailey (1813-1899) came here in
1842, opened a hardware store at Clinton and
Columbia and later became president of the
Merchants National Bank, Fort Wayne Postmaster,
and president of the Fort Wayne and Cincinnati Rail-
He spent sometime in Mississippi and was
chancellor of a large area of the state, and became a
judge in Jackson, Miss. He was one of the founders
of Trinity Episcopal Church here In 1844, and its
first senior warden.
Myron F. Barbour, (1811-1900) native of Sheldon,
N.Y., settled here in 1835, where he became one of
the town's early school teachers, and later a pro-
minent real estate operator. He first taught school
in the county seminary on the site of the present
county jail. He led in the establishment of free
schools, and directed raising of funds for the first
Clay school building.
Following his teaching career, he became clerk in
the government land office. He was married in
1836, to Jane Suttenfield, daughter of Col. and Mrs.
William Suttenfield, among Fort Wayne's first
LEADER IN G. E.
Edward A. Barnes (1865-1959), former general
superintendent, Fort Wayne Works, General Elec-
tric Company, was one of the country's leading
Born in' India, educated in England, he began his
electrical career in 1884, with the Edison interests
in London. He joined the Fort Wayne Electric Co.,
in 1889, which later merged with G.E. Mr. Barnes
worked his way up from chief inspector to general
superintendent. He resigned June, 1931, after 42
years with the company. He was one of the last
members of the Edison Pioneers, former associates
of the Wizard of Menlo Park.
POST, GRIST MILL
James Barnett (1785-1851) settled here in 1818,
and later joined Samuel Hanna in operation of a
trading post. And in 1827, they established Fort
Wayne's first grist mill south of town along the St.
Mary’s River. A dam was built, furnishing water
power for the mill.
Barnett built the town's first brick house on Colum-
bia St., in 1824. He also owned a log house at Cal-
houn and Berry, which, in 1849, was converted Into
a receiving center for victims of a cholera epi-
demic. Barnett’s wife was Nancy W. Hanna, sister of
Before coming here, Barnett served In Gen. Harri-
son’s army. He took part In the July 4, 1835,
celebration, signalling the opening of canal opera-
tions between Fort Wayne and Huntington.
OVER HALF CENTURY
James M. Barrett, Sr., (1852-1929) after studying
law in Chicago, came to Fort Wayne in 1876,
where he became one of the ablest lawyers in the
Middle West. For over a half century he repre-
sented some of the largest business interests here
in his capacity as corporation lawyer.
At the time of his death, Mr. Barrett was senior
member of the legal firm, Barrett, Barrett & Mc-
Nagny. He was president and chief legal counsel
for the Fort Wayne and Northern Indiana Traction
Co., 1913-1917, which later reorganized as Indiana
Service Corp., and now part of Indiana-Michigan
Mr. Barrett served two terms as Indiana State Sen-
ator, and in 1889, authored the Barrett law.
FOUNDER OF BASH
GRAIN CO., 1870
Solomon Bash (1828-1912) was founder of the old
S. Bash & Co., pioneer Fort Wayne grain firm. He
was a prominent grain dealer in northern Indiana
for 62 years.
Born in Ohio, Mr. Bash came here in 1848, joining
Hill & Orbison, and later R. W. Taylor Co., grain
dealers on the banks of the Wabash & Erie Canal,
then one of the main arteries used by grain ship-
pers of this region. In 1870, Mr. Bash founded the
firm bearing his name.
Among his s.even children were the late Charles S.
Bash, former head of the Bash firm, and the late
Harry E. Bash, formerly president of the old May-
FOUNDER OF OLD
John H. Bass (1835-1922) was founder of the old
Bass Foundry & Machine works and dean of Fort
Wayne's pioneer manufacturers. Flis country
home, "Brookside", was one of Northern Indiana's
most attractive suburban estates. The Bass man-
sion, surrounded by 300 wooded acres and arti-
ficial lakes, is now the home of St. Francis College.
For more than 60 years, Mr. Bass was a leader
in the financial and industrial life of Fort Wayne.
Chief products of his foundry were railroad car
wheels, axles, Corliss engines, boilers, power
Mr. Bass for many years was president of the
former First National Bank.
CIVIL WAR HERO
Col. Sion S. Bass (1827-1862) came to Fort
Wayne in 1848, from Salem, Ky. He found em-
ployment with the great western fur traders,
Ewing, Chute and Company. In 1853, he became
a member of Jones, Bass, and Company, manu-
facturers of iron products.
He was a brother of John H. Bass, founder of the
old Bass Foundry & Machine Works of Fort
Wayne. Sion, at the outbreak of the Civil War,
left his business to aid in the formation of the
famous Thirtieth Indiana Regiment. He was com-
missioned a colonel Sept. 12, 1861. He was
wounded April 7, 1862, at the Battle of Shiloh,
and died seven days later at Paducah.
Col. Bass rests in Lindenwood, where a memorial
was erected in his memory by his regiment and
LEADER IN EARLY
SOCIAL WORK HERE
Miss Minette Baum (1879-1956) was for many years one
of Fort Wayne’s prominent social workers. She was one of
the founders and first secretary of the Fort Wayne Jewish
Federation, and one of the organizers of the Fort Wayne
Miss Baum also aided in founding both the local
Hadassah Chapter, and the Fort Wayne Zionist district. As
a social worker, she assisted in organizing the League for
the Blind and the Inter-Racial Commission. She made two
trips to Palestine to engage in welfare work there.
Formerly of Russia, Miss Baum came to America at age
three. She lived In Fort Wayne 45 years. She was a
graduate of Chicago University: a member of the Acduth
Vesholom Congregation, and an honorary member of
B'nal Jacob Congregation. She was active in the affairs of
the Goodwill Industries, Urban League, College Club and
SOL. D. BAYLESS
Solomon D. Bayless, (1814-1875) former local
postmaster, was one of Fort Wayne's distinguished
Freemasons of his time. Sol D. Bayless Lodge No.
359 F. & A.M., was founded In his honor In 1866.
He became a Mason in Troy, 0., and affiliated here
with Wayne Lodge No. 25, becoming its Master in
1861. He later became head of the four grand
bodies of Indiana Freemasonry.
He resided ina brickdwelling atWayneandClinton,
and for a number of years was U.S. Pension Agent.
He died May 30, 1875, and friends came from all
parts of the midwest for his funeral.
Henry A. Beadell (1862-1947) was founder of the
People's Store, which later became the Boston
Store, 110 East Berry St. He also helped in organiz-
ing the Lincoln National Life Insurance Co., the Lin-
coln National Bank & Trust Co., the Wayne Pump
Co., and the Peoples Trust Bank.
He remained a director of Lincoln Life and Peoples
Trust until hisdeath. He was a former director In the
Mr. Beadell was active in many civic affairs. During
World I, he served on the draft board and also was
Allen County coal administrator.
OF BOWSER FIRM
Sylvanus B. Bechtel (1878-1946) was president of
the former S.F. Bowser & Co., and a leader in com-
munity affairs. Born and educated in Barry County,
Mich., he began his career as a school teacher, prin-
cipal and bookkeeper.
Mr. Bechtel became associated with the Bowser
firm (pump manufacturers) in 1899, where he first
worked in sales and advertising. He became
general manager in 1915, and president in 1921.
He was the first president of the reorganized YMCA
in 1916; assisted in the reorganization of the Com-
mercial Club into the Chamber of Commerce, and
was a trustee of Plymouth Congregational Church.
EARLY LEADER IN
Mrs. Jessie Maria Bond (1844-1914) was well known here
for her philanthropic work before and after the turn of the
century. At the time of her death it was reported, “perhaps
no one individual in the city took a greater interest in
works of charity than did Mrs. Bond."
Mrs. Bond was especially interested in the development
of the old Hope Hospital, the Visiting Nurses League and
the Allen County Children’s Home. She was the daughter
of Jesse Vermilyea and was born in the old Vermilyea
mansion built in 1839 in Aboite township. Her father was
one of the original directors of the Fort Wayne Branch
Mrs. Bond was the wife of the late Stephen E. Bond,
former president of the Old National Bank.
JAMES W. BORDEN,
NOTED JUDGE HERE
James W. Borden (1810-1882) came here in 1839,
to take charge of the government land office. Two
years later he became judge of the Twelfth Judicial
Circuit. In 1850, he prepared legislation providing
for revision of the state constitution.
After reorganization of the Indiana judiciary,
Borden was elected judge of the Common Pleas
Court, serving until 1857, when he resigned to be-
come U.S. Minister to Hololulu. In 1864, he was
again chosen judge of the Common Pleas Court,
and then later became judge of Allen Criminal
Court, serving until 1882.
He was educated in New York, and admitted to
practice before the New York Supreme Court.
j till' irnr:
IN FORT WAYNE
Christian Boseker (1841-1900 came to Fort Wayne
with his parents in 1846, from Saxony, Germany. He
was educated here, and later became a carpenter.
He enlisted in Company E, Thirtieth Indiana
Volunteer Infantry soon after the outbreak of the
Civil War, and was discharged in 1863, because of
Returning home, he resumed the carpenter's trade
and later formed his own construction firm. Among
structures built by Mr. Boseker were the Allen
County Jail, old Masonic Temple, 1884, former First
Presbyterian Church, 1885, and the old City Hall,
Sylvanus F . Bowser (1854-1938) was the founder
and for many years president of the former S. F.
Bowser & Company, Inc. He was inventor of the
self-measuring gasoline pump. The Bowser firm
began operations in 1885, with the manufacture of
kerosene pumps and then expanding to develop-
ment and sale of gasoline pumps. Its products
were sold world-wide.
As his pump business grew, Mr. Bowser became
interested in other business and financial enter-
prises. At one time, he was president of the
Bowser Loan & Trust Company. He was a deeply
religious man. He gave generously of his time
and money to Fort Wayne religious organizations.
OF ALLEN COUNTY
Joseph Brackenridge (1823-1891) was one of Al-
len County's distinguished pioneer jurists. Born in
Brookville, Ind., he moved here with his parents in
1830. He was educated in Fort Wayne schools, stu-
died law with his uncle, Robert Brackenridge, and
admitted to the bar in 1846. He served as county
prosecutor for several years.
In 1856, Brackenridge was appointed judge of the
Court of Common Pleas to fill the unexpired term of
Judge James W. Borden. Subsequently he was
elected to the same office for four years; became
judge of the Criminal Court, and then a successful
FIRST LOCAL GOP
Samuel Brenton, (1810-1857) minister and edu-
cator, was the first local Republican to serve in the
U.S. House of Representatives. He became
congressman in 1850, as a Whig, but lost his bid for
re-election in 1852. He regained his house seat in
1854, and in this session voted with the new Repu-
blican party. He was re-elected in 1856, but died
before congress reconvened.
Brenton was the sixth president of Fort Wayne
Female College, (Taylor University), 1853-1855,
and was regarded as the most outstanding presi-
dent during the college's early years. He was born
and educated in Kentucky. He came here In 1841.
He was pastor of Berry Street M.E. Church In 1846,
and In 1849, became Fort Wayne land agent.
IN FRONTIER DAYS
Dr. William H. Brooks (1813-1894) came here in
1841, and for nearly a half century was a prominent
physician in Fort Wayne and Northern Indiana. He
was born in Weston, Mass.; taught school in Ver-
mont and Ohio; studied medicine; and began
practicing in Ohio in 1836.
When Dr. Brooks arrived here. Fort Wayne was a
frontier village. Other practicing physicians of his
time in Fort Wayne were Doctors Thompson,
Beecher, Ormiston, Huxford, Sturgis, Schmitz and
He lived to see the city become a railroad center
and the beginning of its industrial expansion.
Judge William W. Carson (1820-1890) cameto Fort
Wayne from Canada in 1837, to work for Col.
Marshall S. Wines, general contractor. While
associated with Wines, Carson had the opportunity
to read extensively in the colonel's private library.
Later, Carson taught school, read law, and gradu-
ated from Indiana University law school in 1849.
After leaving school he became Adams county pro-
secuting attorney. Fort Wayne city attorney in 1850,
Allen county attorney in 1860, state senator in
1862, and, in 1869, judge of the Court of Common
Pleas. In 1874, he was appointed judge of the
Thirty-Eighth Judicial Circuit by Gov. Thomas A.
FOR MANY YEARS
David H. Colerick (1805-1887) wasfor43yearsone
of Fort Wayne's most successful lawyers. He came
here in 1829, after studying law at Lancaster, 0. He
saw Fort Wayne emerge from a frontier village, to
the canal era, and into the railroad age.
He was elected a State Representative in 1833, and
a State Senator in 1835. His district extended from
the Wabash River to Michigan, from Ohio to Illinois.
He was a delegate to the 1864 Chicago Democratic
National Convention which nominated McClellan
for President. Mr. Colerick declined twice to be the
Democratic nominee for Congress, preferring to
devote his entire time to practice of law.
UNDER HER CARE
Miss Margaret M. Colerick (1857-1934) served
with great distinction as head of Fort Wayne-Allen
County Library. She became assistant librarian in
1895, and three years later was chief librarian.
This kindly, cultured, little lady, truly laid the
groundwork for the extensive expansion of the
local library. During the 36 years of her leader-
ship, the institution grew from a 3,600 book col-
lection to a major library.
ON COLUMBIA STREET
David F. Comparet, (1826-1903) born in Fort
Wayne when the city was a frontier village, was
educated here and at St. Mary's College in Ken-
tucky. He worked with his father, Francis Com-
paret, in the milling business on Columbia Street,
and in the construction of mills and dams.
In 1847, David built a warehouse at Columbia and
Lafayette, and later operated a commission house.
He was married in 1 846 to Sarah Henrietta Colum-
bia, daughter of a pioneer Fort Wayne family.
Their wedding was quite a social event. The
bridal party was accompanied to the Catholic
church by a military band. The wedding ceremony
was performed by the Rev. Julian Benoit, pioneer
OF REAL ESTATE
Louis F. Curdes (1863-1934) was one of Fort
Wayne's early realtors and builder of Forest Park
addition. He entered in the real estate business
in 1893. His first venture was in the sale of the
former Williams Park, which now includes the
tract bounded by Webster, Woodland, Hoagland,
The Forest Park addition was opened in 1905, to
promote lot sales. Mr. Curdes built Forest Park
Boulevard with its wide center parkway. His ef-
forts were successful. In a short time nearly every
lot in the district was sold. Other developments
by Mr. Curdes included Driving Park addition and
- — , ^
LED IN BANKING
Frank H. Cutshall (1876-1943) was a leader in busi-
ness and banking circles here for many years. He
was a native of Allen County, and educated in Fort
Wayne public schools.
Following his long and distinguished banking
career he was president of Wayne Hardware Co.,
First Joint Stock Land Bank, and chairman of the
board of directors of American Steel Dredge Co.,
and American Steel Supply, Co.
He was formerly president of the Old National Bank
and its successor, the Old First National Bank and
JOHN W. DAWSON,
John W. Dawson (1820-1877) had an outstanding
career in early Fort Wayne history. He began
practicing law here in 1843; became proprietor
of his own newspaper in 1854, and in 1861,
President Lincoln appointed him Territorial Gov-
ernor of Utah.
Dawson served but a short time in Utah, returning
here to his newspaper and to compile an early
history of Fort Wayne. His essay on Johnny (Chap-
man) Appleseed has been the most important
single source of data about Chapman. Other local
historians like Griswold, Robertson, Detzer relied
heavily on Dawson's work.
CHIEF OF POLICE
Capt. Hugh M. Deihl (1845-1913) was a key official
in the mechanical department of the Fort Wayne
division, Pennsylvania Railroad, for nearly a half
century with the exception of 13 years when he
served as Fort Wayne police chief, 1876 to 1889.
He was born and educated in Philadelphia; com-
pleted a technical course at the Baldwin Locomo-
tive Works; joined the Union Army at age 16; be-
came an Infantry captain. Although wounded in
combat, he served throughout the war.
Capt. Deihl was a member of the first Scottish Rite
class here In 1886; also a member of Knights Temp-
lar, Mizpah Shrine Temple and the First Presby-
John H. Doswell (1827-1900) becanne superin-
tendent and landscape architect at Lindenwood
Cemetery in 1859, and he remained in this position
until 1900. He was succeeded by his son, Harry
J. Doswell. Lindenwood owes much to the Dos-
wells for its original landscaping, building of rus-
tic bridges, gardens, historic stone houses, and
Mr. Doswell was born in London, England, and
educated at Southhampton. He learned his pro-
fession at the Royal Botanical Gardens at Kew. He
emigrated to Cincinnati in 1852, to continue his
work as a gardener. While at Lindenwood, Mr.
Doswell designed McCulloch, Lawton and Hayden
IN FORT WAYNE
D. Burns Douglass (1879-1947) was a prominent
attorney and judge in Fort Wayne for 42 years. He
served as city judge in 1923 and 1924, and Superior
Court 2 judge in 1942 and 1943. He was graduated
by Fort Wayne High School in 1899, and by Dart-
mouth College In 1903.
After two years with The Fort Wayne Journal-Gazet-
te sports department, he entered the law office of
former Judge Samuel M. Hensch in 1905. He was a
deacon of Plymouth Congregational Church, where
he sang in the choir.
Judge Douglass was active In Scottish Rite and was
made a Thirty- Third Degree Scottish Rite Mason in
OF FORT WAYNE
John B. DuBois (1806-1876) was one of Fort
Wayne’s well known pioneers. He was a member of
the board of trustees of the Village of Fort Wayne
after its original incorporation in 1829. He came
here from New Orleans where he was born of
He began his career here inthetailoring business in
partnership with John Edsall. Later Mr. DuBois be-
came a lawyer and real estate agent. He served as
Wayne township justice of peace and was known as
“Squire" DuBois. He resided first in the historic
council house on East Main, and then built the
DuBois home at East Lewis and Hanna Sts.
Dr. Herman A. Duemling (1871-1927) for 22
years was chief of the Lutheran Hospital surgical
staff; founder and director of the Duemling Clinic.
This was one of the first medical clinics estab-
lished in the Mid-West. Dr. Duemling was recog-
nized as one of the leading surgeons for his time.
He \A/az also a leader in various activities of the
Lutheran Church, especially in the development of
the Lutheran Hospital and its school of nursing.
He led in the organization of the Lutheran Uni-
versity Association which acquired Valparaiso Uni-
versity, converting it into a Lutheran institution.
He was also one of the founders of the American
Luther League and its president.
Fred Eckart (1830-1894) was founder of the old
Eckart meat packing plant at 1825 West Main
Street, which for many years was one of Fort
Wayne's thriving businesses. He came here from
Bavaria in 1849 as a poor butcher boy, but at the
close of his career he left an estate valued at a
half million dollars.
He first opened a meat market on West Jefferson,
with Henry Strong as partner. Their capital was
limited, but trade was promising and the venture
proved successful. At the close of the Civil War,
Mr. Eckart enlarged his operations by establishing
the Eckart pork packing plant. This, too, proved
successful and profitable.
Alfred P. Edgerton, (1813-1897) politician and
very successful businessman, was born and edu-
cated at Plattsburg, N. Y. In 1837, he settled at
Hicksville, 0., where he managed extensive land
holdings for the American Land Co. Later he be-
came owner of 40,000 acres of valuable land in
northwestern Ohio. He was elected to Congress
in 1850, from Ohio, and re-elected in 1852.
He came to Fort Wayne in 1857, and with Hugh
McCulloch and Pliny Hoagland leased the Wa-
bash-Erie Canal, Edgerton becoming general man-
ager. He was also active in Indiana politics and
ran for lieutenant governor in 1868, but was de-
feated. He served on the federal civil service
board under appointment by President Cleveland.
OF RAILROAD LINES
Joseph K. Edgerton (1818-1893) attained wide
prominence in political and railroad history in
Fort Wayne and the Middle West. He came here
in 1844, to practice law with former Governor
Edgerton became interested in the construction
of the first railroads in 1854. He was elected a
director of the Fort Wayne & Chicago Railroad
and later president, succeeding Judge Samuel
Hanna. He led the consolidation of several rail-
roads into the Pennsylvania Railroad. He served
one term in Congress, being elected in 1862. He
was known as one of the largest land owners in
IN FORT WAYNE
Samuel Edsall (1805-1865) settled here in 1824,
becoming a pioneer miller. In 1842, he and William
Rockhill established two band sawmills, operated
with water power from the canal. A year later he
opened the famous Edsall-Orff stone mill.
Mr. Edsall was one of the buildersof the first court-
house in 1831; built the second courthouse in
1847; and the third in 1858. He was associated with
his brothers, William S. and Simon, in the construc-
tion of the Wabash Railroad through Fort Wayne.
Another brother, John, was a pioneer tailor here.
The Edsalls were prominently identified with Fort
Wayne’s early development.
LAND OFFICE HEAD,
BUILT PLANK ROAD
William S. Edsall (1809-1876) fora half century was
a leading citizen in Fort Wayne’s early development.
His first job was with U.S. Engineers, surveying a
route for the Wabash and Erie Canal. Later he joined
the Ewings in fur trading and mercantile business.
In 1840, he became a memberof Fort Wayne's first
common council and head of the U.S. Land Office in
1843. He and his brother, Samuel, and Judge
Samuel Hanna formed a company, buildingthe Fort
Wayne-Bluffton plank road.
Mr. Edsall died In his home at West Main and Cass.
Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury, Hugh M.
McCulloch attended the funeral.
FOR MANY YEARS
Miss Julia E. Emanuel (1871-1962) was one of Fort
Wayne's first woman pharmacists. She came here
following graduation in 1889, from Michigan Uni-
versity, where she was the only girl in a class of 41
receiving a pharmaceutical degree. She first work-
ed as a pharmacist for Meyer Drugs, and later
opened her own store in the old arcade on Berry.
In 1909, Miss Emanuel moved her store to Berry
and Harrison, and later the^Miss Emanuel Chemist
Shop", was located on West Wayne near Harrison.
She retired in 1943.
Miss Emanuel organized the Fort Wayne U. of M.
Club, and she was eighty when she saw Michigan
play in the Rose Bowl. She was active In civic affairs.
IN ALLEN COUNTY
Charles W. Ewing (1798-1843) was the first judge of
Allen County Probate Court and the first lawyer in
Fort Wayne. He was the eldest son of Col. Alexander
and Charlotte Ewing, who settled here in 1822. The
Ewings were important figures in the early devel-
opment of this community.
On August 9, 1824, the first session of Allen Circuit
Court began and Charles Ewing was the prose-
cutor, and for the first term he received a $5.00 fee.
He was, for a time. President Judge of the Eighth
Judicial Circuit. He was a brilliant lawyer and a
Judge Ewing was secretary of the first Masonic
Lodge in Allen County, Wayne Lodge No. 25,
organized in 1823. His father was its first Worship-
FUR TRADING LED
TO EWING WEALTH
Col. George W. Ewing (1804-1866) was one of
Fort Wayne's early pioneers. He, along with his
brother, William G. Ewing, (1801-1854), became
fur traders in 1826. Later their commercial en-
terprises extended from the Alleghenies to the
Rockies. Their combined estates exceeded two
Their father. Col. Alexander Ewing, who fought in
the Revolutionary War and War of 1812, died in
1827. He was buried on Ewing property which
later became a part of Lindenwood Cemetery.
Above the large Ewing underground vault In Lin-
denwood is the $25,000 35-foot Ewing monu-
ment, the finest single shaft of Scotch granite in
America. Here also rests Charles W. Ewing, (1798-
1843) successful lawyer, eldest son of Alexander
SEAMAN TO FARMER
Capt. Asa Fairfield, (1797-1868) a seafaring man,
born in Kennebunkport, Me., settled here in 1834,
where he operated the first boat on the Wabash-
Erie Canal. He served in the War of 1812, aboard
one of the first privately owned ships licensed by
the government to act against enemy shipping.
He was taken prisoner by the British and confined
for six months in Dartmouth Prison.
After working on the canal, Capt. Fairfield pur-
chased a large tract of land south of Fort Wayne
and became a successful farmer. He was active
in the old Second Presbyterian Church and the
Fairfield Avenue was named in his honor.
John Ferguson (1834-1917) became one of Fort
Wayne’s leading manufacturers and lumbermen in
the mid 1800's. Born and educated near Quebec,
he settled here in 1855. He entered the lumber
business in 1861, establishing two large mills along
the Fort Wayne & Muncie Railroad. Chicago was the
principal market for his lumber.
He became associated with other businesses. He
was a director of the Fort Wayne Gas Co., and presi-
dent of the Bluffton Gravel Road Co. He owned
1,000 acres of improved land In Allen, Huntington,
Wells and Marshall counties.
Mr. Ferguson and his wife, Eliza, were members of
the First Baptist Church.
Lucien P. Ferry (1810-1844) became Fort Wayne’s
first city attorney following the city's incorporation
and election in 1840. Although he died at an early
age, he had become an outstanding layiyer and poli-
tician. He moved herefrom Monroe, Mich., in 1831.
He became judge of the probate court in 1835 and
Indiana state representative in 1842.
His father, Peter Peyre de Ferry, native of France,
served as chief of battalion under Napoleon Bona-
parte, and fled to America as a peasant after the fall
of the emperor.
Lucien Ferry's widow, Caroline Bourie, who lived to
be 100, died here in 1915.
LEADER OF VAST
Robert M. Feustel, (1884-1932) born and reared
in Fort Wayne, becanne a nationally known public
service engineer and utility executive. He headed
numerous utilities of the Middle West with a com-
bined capitalization of $300,000,000.
He was president of Indiana Service Corp., a com-
bined street railway, light and power company in
Fort Wayne; vice-chairman of Northern Indiana
Public Service; president. Midland United, utility
holding company; president, Indiana Railroad Sys-
tem; president, Chicago, South Shore & South
Bend Railroad, and president. Public Service Com-
pany of Indiana.
Mr. Feustel was graduated by Purdue University
and began his professional career with the old Fort
Wayne & Wabash Valley Traction Co.
Oscar G. Foeliinger, (1885-1936) born and reared
in Fort Wayne, became publisher of the News-
Sentinel. He died suddenly while on a hunting
trip in British Columbia. He was nationally known
in newspaper and advertising circles, and recog-
nized as a competent and successful newspaper
His career began as an assistant bank cashier in
1901. In 1905, he became bookkeeper for The
Journal-Gazette, and later its business manager.
Leaving Fort Wayne in 1910, he practiced public
accounting on the west coast. Returning here in
1912, he joined the News Publishing Company,
and in 1920, he became publisher of The News-
SHOE STORE, 1863
Louis Fortriede, Sr., (1840- 1922) was founder of the
former Fortriede shoe store which was one of the
oldest commercial enterprises in Fort Wayne. The
business opened In 1863, and closed August 15,
1967, when the store at 615 Calhoun was razed to
make way for the new City-County Building.
Fortriede came here from Germany In 1861. He
served with the Union Army at the outbreak of the
Civil War, and upon returning here, opened his store
In the 100 block of West Main. It was relocated on
Calhoun In 1887.
For many years, four Fortriede sons carried on their
father's business: Waldemar, Edwin, Louis, Jr., and
FATHER OF CITY'S
FINE PARK SYSTEM
Col. David N. Foster (1841-1934) for 25 years
served as president of the Fort Wayne Park Board.
Until his death, he was known as the father of Fort
Wayne's parks. Col. Foster and his brother, the
late Samuel M. Foster, donated the land in 1912,
for the establishment of Foster Park.
Col. Foster served three years in the Civil War;
was on Gen. Mead's staff at the Battle of Gettys-
burg, and he was wounded in the battle of Fred-
ericksburg. After the war, he became active in the
Grand Army of the Republic, both on the state and
Col. Foster came here in 1877, and was engaged
in the retail furniture business. Fie assisted in the
organization of the Wayne Knitting Mills and the
Lincoln National Bank.
S. M. FOSTER LED
IN CITY'S GROWTH
Samuel M. Foster (1851-1935) was one of Fort
Wayne's most outstanding business and civic lead-
ers. His career began as a cash-boy and bundle
wrapper in a New York store. Later he was gradu-
ated by Yale University where he achieved a bril-
liant scholastic record. Coming here in 1879, Mr.
Foster embraced an interest in law, journalism,
manufacturing and merchandising.
His successful business enterprises led him into
the field of banking and life insurance. He was
one of the organizers of Lincoln National Bank &
Trust Co. and Lincoln National Life Insurance Co.
For both institutions he was their first president
and later board chairman. He was truly a driving
force in the development of the city.
FOUNDER OF FRANK
DRY GOODS STORE
Marx Frank (1836-1923) was founder and presi-
dent of the former Frank Dry Goods Company, and
he was an outstanding leader in the development of
Jewish religious movements of the city. He was
president of Achduth Vesholom Congregation for
40 years. Three temples were built by that congre-
gation under his direction.
Born in Bavaria, Germany, Mr. Frank came to this
country when 17 years of age. After a brief time in
New York, he came to Fort Wayne in 1862, and
several years later founded the firm which bore his
He was succeeded in management of the Frank
Store by his son, the late Theodore Frank, and by his
grandsons, the late Eugene Frank and the late Jack
John B. Franke, (1866-1927) founder and presi-
dent of Perfection Biscuit Company, was one of
Fort Wayne's outstanding business and civic
leaders of his time. Under his management, Per-
fection grew from a small brick building on Barr
Street, with a single oven, to its modern facilities
on Pearl Street. He was also a stockholder In a
number of other Fort Wayne manufacturing and
Mr. Franke was chairman of the building commit-
tee which erected the Trinity English Lutheran
Church edifice at West Wayne and Ewing, and was
active In its dedication in 1926. He loved music,
and he arranged and financed many concerts here.
He donated to the city the large tract of land known
as Franke Park.
FOR 45 YEARS
William Geake (1849-1927) for 45 years was
identified with every important development in
Fort Wayne and Indiana freemasonry. He be-
came a Mason in 1871, at Steubenville, 0. In
1882, he led the movement resulting in chartering
four Fort Wayne Scottish Rite bodies; was Grand
Master, Grand Lodge of Indiana, 1899-1900; be-
came Scottish Rite Deputy for Indiana in 1902,
holding that office until 1927.
Born in Bristol, England, Mr. Geake settled here in
1878. A stone cutter by trade, he served as fore-
man during construction of the old Masonic
Temple, East Wayne and Clinton.
FAMOUS CIVIL WAR
NURSE BURIED HERE
Mrs. Eliza E. George, (1808-1865) Fort Wayne's
noted Civil War nurse, died of typhoid fever in
an army camp, Wilmington, N.C., a month after
Lee's surrender at Appomattox. She gave her life,
like thousands of others, in the terrible struggle
to preserve the Union. She accompanied Indiana
regiments, nursing the sick, wounded, and became
known affectionately as "Mother George."
Mrs. George was buried in Lindenwood Cemetery
with full military honors and the Indiana Sanitary
Commission erected a monument to her memory.
She rests in the family plot of Fort Wayne's other
great Civil War hero. Col. Sion S. Bass, who fell
FOR FIVE TERMS
Dr. George W. Gillie (1881-1963) was elected to
Congress In 1938, serving five consecutive terms.
Previously he was Allen County sheriff from 19 16 to
1918, and was elected sheriff again in 1928 and
1934. He also practiced his profession as a
veterinarian for many years. As a Congressman, he
became nationally known for his efforts to eradi-
cate the hoof and mouth disease among livestock.
He was a star football player at Ohio State Univer-
sity, and one of the first men elected to the National
Football Hall of Fame. Dr. Gillie was a Republican,
but his long list of personal friends was altogether
SERVED IN 12TH'S
Capt. John M. Godown (1832-191 1) former Fort
Wayne city clerk, civil engineer and prominent
Pittsburgh, Fort Wayne and Chicago Railway of-
ficial, was one of this city's distinguished Civil
Godown served with Company K, Twelfth Indiana
Regiment, participating in 28 battles during the
long and costly struggle to preserve the Union.
This regiment fought at Richmond, Ky., and then
joined Grant at Memphis. It served in the seige
and victory at Vicksburg. Godown was with Sher-
man in the long march from Memphis to Chatta-
nooga. The Twelfth also fought at Mission Ridge,
at Knoxville, and in the Atlanta campaign. It
marched with Sherman to Savannah, into the Caro-
lines and south to Richmond, Va.
William F. Graeter (1863-1949) was a civic leader
and prominent Fort Wayne businessman for many
years. Born in Madison, Ind., he came here in 1881,
and was one of the founders, and an officer of the
Old Indiana Furniture Co. He was active in the local
and national Chambers of Commerce, and was first
vice-president of the former FortWayne Morris Plan
Bank. He was also organizer of the Fort Wayne
Mr. Graeter was a member of Sol D. Bayless Lodge,
F. and A.M.; Scottish Rite and Mizpah Shrine
DEALER TO MAYOR
Jesse A. Grice, (1852-1915) successful farmer,
stock dealer, meat market operator, became an
ardent Republican worker here before the turn of
the century. In recognition of his faithful work for
the G.O.P., he was nominated and elected sheriff
in 1904, and re-elected two years later.
Shortly after retirement as sheriff, he was per-
suaded to run for mayor. He ran and was elected
November 2, 1909. During his administration, the
city paved many additional miles of streets, side-
walks; improved street lighting; enlarged the city
park system; and completed negotiations for rail-
road track elevation over Calhoun, Fairfield and
WILLIAM M. GRIFFIN
William M. Griffin (1870-1937) was president of the
former Wayne Pump Company and for many years a
prominent industrialist and civic leader. He attended
school in Noble County and Tri-State Normal College.
He served with the U.S. Army during the Spanish-
American War. After discharge he came to Fort Wayne
and was engaged in commercial work until 1914, when
he became president of Wayne Pump.
He was a director of Lincoln National Bank and member
of Lincoln National Life's executive committee.
Bert J. Griswold (1873-1927) after years of
research and writing, published in 1917 his “Pic-
torial History of Fort Wayne." It Is a comprehensive
document of early Fort Wayne history and Includes
portraits, short biographical sketches of persons
closely related to the community's early develop-
Later, he published his “History of Fort Wayne and
Allen County," containing vignettes of 750
professional and business leaders of the city. Mr.
Griswold came here in 1902, and was for 13 years a
cartoonist for local newspapers. He then opened an
His work in Fort Wayne civic life and historical field
is a “monument more lasting than marble or
Herbert J. Grosvernor (1875-1963) a native of Fort
Wayne, was vice president of Bowser, Inc. for many
years, producers of gasoline pumps. He joined the
Bowser firm as bookkeeper in 1899, and subse-
quently rose through positions of purchasi ng agent,
secretary-treasurer, and vice president general
manager. He retired in 1945 after 46 years with the
Mr. Grosvernor was also a community leader and an
active member of Trinity Episcopal Church where
he served as a vestryman and warden. He was also
president of the R & L Concrete Machinery Com-
pany of Kendallville.
GROTH CO. STORE
John Earl Groth, Sr., (1878*1947) was one of Fort
Wayne's leading citizens for 25 years, and presi-
dent of the former Earl Groth & Co., department
store. He came here in 1921 as general manager of
the Rurode Store, and in 1925 moved to New York to
manage the Kresge Department stores. In 1929 he
acquired the Rurode Store and returned here. The
store's name was changed to Earl Groth & Co.
Mr. Groth participated in many local civic affairs;
served as Plymouth Congregational Church board
chairman, and had a major interest in his South
Wind Farms at Ossian.
GAS FOR 30 YEARS
Olaf N. Guldlin, (1849-1932) was a nationally
known gas engineer and president of the old West-
ern Gas Construction Company in Fort Wayne for 30
years. A native of Norway, he came here in 1884,
and had a prominent part in the development of the
city and its industries.
He was first associated as an engineer with the Kerr-
Murray Manufacturing Co. here, and later joined
with W. A. Croxton and Frank D. Moses as gas con-
sulting engineers, and in the development of Wes-
In 1917, Western Gas merged with Koppers Co. of
Pittsburgh, and Mr. Guldlin remained with the firm
OF THE SENTINEL
Edward A.K. Hackett, (1851-1916) former owner
and publisher of The Fort Wayne Sentinel, was a
prominent and influential figure in Hoosier journa-
lism. He was a native of Bloomfield, Pa., where he
learned the printer's trade.
In 1874, he purchased half Interest in The Bluffton,
(Ind.) Banner and later became its sole owner. In
1880, he purchased The Fort Wayne Sentinel from
William Fleming and developed it into a pros-
perous newspaper. He was also publisher of the old
Indianapolis Sentinel which he sold to devote his
entire time to his Fort Wayne newspaper.
He was a prominent member of the First Presby-
Arthur F. Hall (1872-1942) was founder of Lincoln
National Life Insurance Company and for 37 years
one of Fort Wayne's outstanding business and
civic leaders. He entered the life insurance field
in 1904 in Indianapolis, and in 1905 came to Fort
Wayne to direct the organization of Lincoln Life.
In the beginning he served as secretary and general
manager, directed the sale of the $100,000 stock
to organize, and wrote most of the firm's business.
After the first 100 days, the company had $532,000
life insurance in force,
Mr. Hall became Lincoln Life president in 1 923 and
board chairman in 1939. He lived to see the firm
expand beyond a billion dollars In ordinary life
insurance in force. He was a brilliant leader of
men, a business genius, a lovable friend.
Allen Hamilton: 1 798-1 864. He came to Fort Wayne
in 1823, and rose to become a man of wealth and
a leader in the commercial development of the
community. He was Allen County's first sheriff
and aided in negotiating a treaty with the Miami
Mr. Hamilton in 1835, was named president of the
Indiana Branch Bank here, and in 1853, he along
with Hugh McCulloch and Jesse L. Williams
formed the Allen and Hamilton Co., forerunner of
a number of Fort Wayne banking institutions.
, Mi »
A GRACIOUS LADY
OF PIONEER DAYS
Mrs. Emerine Jane Hamilton, (1810-1889) wife
of Allen Hamilton, prominent Fort Wayne pioneer
merchant and banker, was one of Hoosierland's
great ladies. She loved good literature, worked
and gave generously in community charities, and
was a devoted member and leader in the First
She was the daughter of Judge Jesse L. Holman,
chief justice of the Indiana Supreme Court. After
her marriage she came here with her husband in
1827, and they first resided in the Old Fort. Mrs.
Hamilton started the first public reading room, fore-
runner of our public library, and was a pioneer in
the woman sufferage movement.
CITY OWES MUCH
TO SAMUEL HANNA
Samuel Hanna, 1797-1866. Fort Wayne owes
much to the pioneering leadership of Judge Han-
na. His enterprising adventures in fur and Indian
trades, land speculation, and promotion of the
Wabash-Erie Canal, plank roads and railroads,
contributed greatly to the population increase and
economic growth of this region.
He settled here in 1819, a year before the troops
evacuated the Fort. Soon after opening a trading
post at Barr and Columbia, Hanna's long and suc-
cessful career was underway. He also took an
active role in governmental policy-making, serving
as associate judge of Allen County, state repre-
sentative and state senator.
LEADER IN DRUG
Gottlieb H. Heine, (1878-1953) was for many years presi-
dent of Meyer Brothers Company, pioneei; retail drug es-
tablishment in Fort Wayne and northeastern Indiana. A
native of Fort Wayne, Mr. Heine attended Lutheran paro-
chial schools and Concordia College.
He became associated in 1897 with Meyer Brothers as
stenographer, and later he was the key man in reorgani-
zation and expansion of the firm. Meyer Brothers was sold
in 1969 to Hook's Drug Stores.
Mr. Heine was active in the early development of the Fort
Wayne Chamber of Commerce. He was a member of the
building committee in the construction of Trinity English
Lutheran Church and served on the city school board.
Louis Heilbroner (1861-1933) was a unique figure
in the world of organized baseball. In 1909, he
founded and operated here Heilbroner's Baseball
Bureau Service and published the annual baseball
Blue Book. He was recognized by the late Judge
Kenesaw M. Landis, baseball commissioner, as the
greatest authority in the world on major and minor
league baseball players and their records.
He supplied records and statistics on all profes-
sional, semi-professional and college players. The
bureau kept an accurate daily record and history of
every player, and gave clubs reports on sales,
trades, and lists of eligible players.
His baseball career began as manager of the St.
Louis Cardinals in 1900.
Henry J. Herbst (1888-1947) was for many years
one of the city's leadi ng i ndustrial and civic leaders.
He was organizer of General Hosiery Co. in 1926,
and served as secretary-treasurer and general
manager until the plant was sold in 1945 to Got-
His career began as cash boy at W & D Store, and
then he worked for Fort Wayne Electric, Western
Gas Construction, Fort Wayne Knitting Mills, and
Thieme Brothers Silk Hosiery Mills.
He was active in Fort Wayne civic affairs, and was
chairman of the Fort Wayne Plan Commission.
Dr. Victor H. Hilgemann (1886-1972) life long resi-
dent of Fort Wayne, was the city’s first oral surgeon.
He practiced here from 1909 to 1958, and was one
of the original members of the Duemling Clinic. He
was influential in having fluorine added to Fort
Wayne's water, making Fort Wayne the first Hoosier
city to make the addition.
Dr. Hilgemann attended Michigan University and
was graduated by Indiana Dental College. He was
an active member of the Izaak Walton League.
Pliny Hoagland (1810-1884) was one of Fort
Wayne's outstanding pioneer businessmen. He was
associated with Samuel Hanna and William Mitch-
ell in building the Pittsburgh, Fort Wayne and Chi-
cago Railroad from Crestline to Fort Wayne.
Mr. Hoagland was the construction engineer for
the Wabash and Erie Canal from Toledo to a point
near Fort Wayne. He was vice president of the old
Fort Wayne National Bank and senior member of
Hoagland and Tresselt milling firm. He left a large
fortune as the result of his successful business
Edward G. Hoffman, (1878-1931) in a short life
span of fifty-two years, excelled as a student,
lawyer, national political leader, banker and civic
Mr. Hoffman received his B.S. degree at Valpar-
aiso and law degree at Michigan. He began prac-
ticing law here in 1900. From 1916 to 1920, he
was secretary of the Democratic National Com-
mittee, and became a close friend of President
Wilson and Vice President Thomas R. Marshall.
He retired from active law practice in 1927, be-
coming executive vice-president of Tri-State Loan
and Trust Co. In the 1930 bank merger he be-
came vice president of First and Tri-State Na-
LAWYER IN 1800’S
John Hough, Jr. (1818-1875) settled in Fort Wayne
in 1843, and became a successful lawyer. He was
associated with Jones, Bass & Co., manufacturers
of heavy iron products.
Mr. Hough practiced law with Worthington, Day and
Turner. As an agent for eastern land-owners, he
sold one-half of the lands in Allen and adjoining
counties, and accumulated a large private fortune.
He was born in Middlebury, Vt., taught school In Ala-
bama, and studied law in Cleveland in 1841-42,
before coming here.
PAST G.E HEAD,
Fred S. Hunting (1867-1951 ) was born in Temple-
ton, Mass., and upon graduation from Worcester
Polytechnic Institute in 1888, he came to Fort
Wayne to enter the employ of Fort Wayne Jenney
Light Co. He remained with the firm, through
changes of corporate organization, becoming the
first general manager of the local G.E. plant in
1916, and then resigning in 1 922, to head Robbins
& Myers Co., in Springfield, 0.
He retired in 1927, making his home in Los
Angeles until 1933, when he returned here to as-
sume the presidency of the newly organized Fort
Wayne National Bank. He became chairman of the
bank board in 1 941 , and retired as an active officer
in 1947, going to Cincinnati to make his home.
Dr. Merchant W. Huxford (1798-1877) settled here
in 1834, and later became a successful physician
with a large practice. He also owned and operated
Fort Wayne's first drug store at Columbia and Barr.
He was elected mayor of Fort Wayne In 1845,
succeeding Mayor John M. Wallace, who had
resigned. The doctor then served three additional
one-year terms as mayor. Following retirement
from office and practice of medicine, he lived at his
suburban home on Spy Run. He formerly owned the
tract of land now known as Lawton Park.
Dr. Huxford was born In Conway, Mass., and
educated at Union College, Schenectady, N.Y. He
first practiced medicine at St. Marys, 0., before
IN CIVIC AFFAIRS
Max Irmscher, Sr. (1866-1935) was one of Fort
Wayne's prominent Duildmg contractors. A native of
Saxony, Germany, he came here in 1883, to
become a blacksmith, a bricklayer and general con-
tractor. He was president of the old Fort Wayne
Brick & Tile Co., and later organized the Max
Irmscher & Sons, Inc., general contractors.
Mr. Irmscher built the Scottish Rite Auditorium, for-
merly the Mizpah Shrine Temple, the First National
Bank building, now the Commerce Building, the
City Filtration plant, Concordia Lutheran Church
and the former W & D Store.
He was active in Fort Wayne civic affairs, and was a
member and trustee of St. Paul's Lutheran Church,
IN LAW, POLITICS
Samuel D. Jackson (1895-1951) was a distin-
guished lawyer, brilliant orator, and first to serve in
the U.S. Senate from Fort Wayne. He reached the
peak of his political career when he served as per-
manent chairman of the 1944’Chicago Democratic
National convention that nominated Roosevelt for
his fourth presidential term, and Truman for Vice-
President. Jackson subsequently served as a dele-
gate to the United Nations Food Conference, and
governor of the Association of American Commo-
He was a native of Allen County, Indiana University
School of Law graduate, and U.S. Army captain in
World War I. At the time of his death, he was In law
practice with his son, James W. Jackson and the
late Thomas Longfellow.
FOUNDER OF TROY
Fremont L Jones (1855-1935) was founder of the
Troy Laundry, Troy Dry Cleaning and Troy Towel
firms in Fort Wayne, and associated with other
business firms, and banking institutions. He was
one of the organizers of Lincoln National Life Insur-
ance Company, a director and member of its
Born In Grant County, Ind., he moved here with his
parents in 1863. His father, David F., established
the Fort Wayne Gazette which later merged with The
Journal. Fremont Jones attended local public
schools and Methodist College. He and Ogden
Pierce, Sr., established the first steam laundry here.
Mr. Jones was chairman of Wayne Street Methodist
TO SOCIAL WORK
Miss Margaret Ann Keegan (1903-1966) was long
active in the civic, cultural, religious and social life
of Fort Wayne. She devoted her entire adult life to
community service. One of her most successful
ventures wasthe founding of the Christmas Bureau.
She created the Fine Arts Festival; helped to weave
together the Fine Arts Foundation, bringing to-
gether the city's cultural groups into one organiza-
tion which led to the Fine Arts Center.
Miss Keegan attended Fort Wayne Public Schools,
and received a bachelor's degree at U. of M., spe-
cializing In physchiatric social work. She worked at
Fort Wayne State School, and later in the bureau of
testing and measurements. Fort Wayne Public
OF FORT WAYNE
Peter Kiser (1810-1890) was one of Fort Wayne's
prominent settlers. He was born in Green County, 0
He came through here in 1822, driving hogs to
Detroit. He settled here in 1825, and was employed
by Gen. John Tipton, furnishing meat rations for the
Indians during treaty negotiations.
Kiser was a butcher by trade, and operated a meat
market and general store on Calhoun. He sold
everything from buttons to grindstones. He could
neither read nor write, but in place of keeping books
he made pictures on the wall when customers
bought on credit.
He had no fear of the wilderness for he was a giant in
size and strength. He stood six feet tall and weighed
300 pounds. He represented Allen County twice in
the state legislature and was an advocate of good
DR. ISAAC KNAPP,
Dr. Isaac Knapp, M.D., D.D.S., (1814-1883), was a Fort
Wayne pioneer dentist. He came here in 1843, and later
established a wide dental practice. He became the sec-
ond president of the Indiana State Dental Association in
1860, and served again as president In 1866 and 1877.
The Fort Wayne Isaac Knapp Dental Society was named in
his memory. Following the Civil War, Dr. Knapp had of-
fices in the Keystone Building, Calhoun and Columbia. It
was the first building In the city equipped with running
water and central heating.
Dr. Knapp was associated In practice with his son. Dr. Will
B. Knapp. Dr. Isaac Knapp was graduated by Columbia
Medical College, New York.
Max Kraus (1866-1943) was vice president of Al-
lied Seed Company and prominent in Fort Wayne
business, civic and club activities. He served as an
officer of Allied Seed from its organization in 1932
until 1943. Previously, he was secretary-treasurer
of Kraus & Apfelbaum, wholesale grain and seed
dealers, and president of D. S. Sears, packers of
He was an active member of the Chamber of Com-
merce and Rotary Club. He was born and reared in
Columbia City, and worked with his father, Leopold
Kraus, a rural produce buyer.
Erastus B. Kunkle, (1836-1913) machinist and in-
ventor, was founder of the Kunkle Valve Company,
Inc., In 1875. His Inventiveness led to the develop-
ment of the Kunkle lock-up safety valve and to the
expansive production of valves. He was also
credited with the invention of other related pro-
ducts produced by his firm.
The Kunkle Valve Company has been in con-
tinuous operation since Its founding, and its
modern plant facilities are now located at 8222
Bluffton Road. Born in West Moreland County, Pa.,
Mr. Kunkle came here in 1864, where he worked in
the Pennsylvania Railroad shops until he opened
his valve plant.
CHESTER T. LANE
Chester T. Lane, (1851-1917) principal of old Fort
Wayne High School for 36 years, was recognized as
a great scholar, administrator, teacher, and leader
In recognition of his many accomplishments. Lane
Junior High School was dedicated to his memory.
He graduated at Michigan U., in 1874; became
principal at Ypsilanti High School, and in 1879,
accepted the principalship here. Mr. Lane had a
unique and superb faculty which gave Fort Wayne
High School a reputation of classical excellence.
Henry Lankenau (1843-1910) came to Fort Wayne
with his parents from Bremen, Germany, in 1844.
He was educated here, and at age 19, enlisted in
1862, in the Union Army with Co. "D" of the 5th
Indiana Cavalry. He was captured by the Con-
federates in the siege of Atlanta and taken to the
notorious Andersonville prison. In 1898, he wrote
about the prison, and battle experiences.
Following the war he returned to Fort Wayne to work
as a printer, and deputy county sheriff. He left here
in 1885, and subsequently taught school in Van
Wert, 0., St. John's Lutheran School, Bingen, and at
Zion Lutheran School, Decatur.
Ross F. Lockridge, Sr., (1877-1952) was one of
Indiana's best-known historians, authors, lecturers
and educators. He was the founder and director of
the Hoosier Historical Institute, a "History on
Wheels." He traveled throughout the state with a
cast of actors to present the story of Hoosier his-
torical events on actual location of events.
Mr. Lockridge was formerly head of the Indiana Uni-
versity public speaking department, and lectured at
the I.U. Extension Division in Fort Wayne. He was
author of "The Story of Indiana," a history book
adopted by the state for use in the eighth grade.
MAYOR IN 1843-44
Henry Lotz, (1797-1845) prominent pioneer canal
builder, became Fort Wayne's third mayor in 1843.
He was re-elected the following year. Lotz resigned
as mayor after serving sixteen months because his
private business frequently kept him away from the
He was genera! contractor for the first canal aque-
duct to span the St. Mary's River. It was located on
the site between the old Nickel Plate Railroad
bridges, near the Main Street bridge.
One of the unique ordinances passed by city coun-
cil, when Lotz was mayor, called for a “penalty for
riding or driving any horse faster than an ordinary
gait of travel, except when going for a physician."
IN CIVIC WORK
Martin H. Luecke (1883-1948) was one of Fort
Wayne's prominent attorneys, civic leader, and
president of the Irene Byron Sanatorium for 29
years. He was legal adviser for the Lutheran Hos-
pital and for Fort Wayne Lutheran Churches.
He was one of the leaders of the Lutheran move-
ment in the acquisition of Valparaiso University,
and became a trustee and general counsel for the
Mr. Luecke began law practice here in 1903, and
was first associated with the law firm of Barrett and
Morris. He was one of the founders of the Chamber
of Commerce, and in 1915, became the first pres-
ident of the Fort Wayne Rotary Club.
HRST ICE CREAM
SOLD BY MAIER
John G. Maier (1810-1880) came to Fort Wayne in 1845
from Circleville, Ohio, and for a number of years operated
the Maier Grocery on Columbia Street. He was Fort Wayne
postmaster from 1852 to 1860, and also served as town-
Maier raised and distributed the first strawberries in Allen
County and introduced here the first musical instru-
ments and toys. He was the first to sell Ice cream in Fort
Wayne, and the first to press grape wine for commercial
purposes. Maler's wine was used for some years in the
sacrament of communion at Trinity English Lutheran
Mr. Maier died July 4, 1880. Funeral services were con-
ducted at the family homestead, 78 South Lafayette, by
Rev. Samuel Wagenhals.
J. Ross McCulloch, (1869-1957) Fort Wayne native,
was for many years a prominent banker and civic
leader. He began his career with the old Hamilton
National Bank, and later served as vice-president of
the First National Bank, and First & Tri-State
He was the son of Charles McCulloch, local banker,
and grandson of Hugh M. McCulloch, Fort Wayne
pioneer businessman, banker, first U.S. Comptrol-
ler of the Currency, and Treasury Secretary under
Presidents Lincoln, Johnson and Arthur.
Ross McCulloch was born in the former Hugh
McCulloch homestead, 616 West Superior. He was
past president of the Chamber of Commerce, active
in aviation, the Turners and musical organizations.
Ronald T. McDonald (1849-1898) before the turn
of the century was one of Fort Wayne's most suc-
cessful pioneers in the electric light industry. His
management of the Fort Wayne Jenney Light Com-
pany and its successor firms, in manufacturing of
arch light equipment, eventually led to the estab-
lishment of the local G.E. works.
Born in Pennsylvania, he came here in 1860. Be-
fore reaching age 15, he joined the Union Army
in 1864, as a drummer boy, serving with Company
C, 152nd Indiana Infantry. After the close of the
war, he returned here becoming a dry goods clerk.
Later he met James and Charles Jenney, who had
perfected a dynamo and arch lighting system.
They pooled their engineering and promotional
knowledge, launching the first electric light busi-
ness in Fort Wayne.
AND CIVIC LEADER
Oliver P. Morgan (1824-1900) native of Lawrence-
burg, Ind., came to Fort Wayne in 1832. He be-
came one of Fort Wayne's leading wholesale and
retail merchants; bankers; city recorder; and city
treasurer. One of his first jobs was with the Wa-
bash and Erie Canal as collector of tolls in Fort
Mr. Morgan's outstanding civic contribution was
as city school trustee from 1861 to 1894. It was
in these years that the public schools merged from
one to sixteen school houses with 200 teachers.
Mr. Morgan was vice president of the Old National
Bank and president of the Fort Wayne Drug Com-
pany. He was also one of the incorporators of Lin-
denwood Cemetery and served as its second presi-
dent from 1891 to 1900.
Judge John Morris (1816-1905) was one of In-
diana’s leading jurists before the turn of the cen-
tury. He began practicing at Auburn in 1844, and in
1852, became judge of DeKalb and Steuben Coun-
He came here in 1857, joining the firm of Case,
Morris, Withers. Later he was associated in law
practice with other well known attorneys: James L.
Worden, Charles H. Aldrich, James M. Barrett,
Edward J. Woodworth. He served as Indiana
Supreme Court Commissioner, 1881 to 1883.
When he took his bar examination in Ohio in 1840,
one of the examiners was Edwin M. Stanton, who
became a member of Lincoln’s cabinet.
"ANGEL IN EBONY"
DIED HERE IN 1893
Sammy Morris, born in 1873, the prince of Kroo
tribe deep in Liberia, died in Fort Wayne, May 12,
1893, following a year's study here at Taylor Uni-
versity. He became known as a famous Christian
mystic and "Apostle of Simple Faith".
During his student days, Sammy joined the old
Berry Street Methodist Church, and assisted In
services there and at the African Methodist Epis-
Taylor University named a dormitory in his mem-
ory and remembers him as "The Angel in Ebony".
Taylor seniors of 1928 erected a memorial in Sec-
tion "14" in Lindenwood that gives permanent
identity to his resting place.
Samuel L Morris (1849-1922) was one of 1 ndiana’s
outstanding trial lawyers before and aftertheturn of
the century. He was graduated by Fort Wayne High
School In 1869, and was valedictorian of his class.
Following graduation at Princeton in 1873, he
studied law under the guidance of his father, Judge
John Morris, one of the state's leading jurists.
Mr. Morris participated in much of the important
litigation in the courts of Allen and surrounding
counties. As a trial lawyer, “in his pleadings, he was
painstaking, concise; in argument his most pro-
minent characteristics were simplicity and force-
fulness", according to the Allen County Bar.
Samuel S. Morss (1811-1862) was one of Fort
Wayne's early prominent politicians. He became
the city’s first town marshal in 1840, following the
incorporation of the city. He was elected county
auditor in 1842, county assessor in 1853, and
became the city's ninth mayor in 1857. He was re-
elected mayor in 1858.
Morss, in 1839, was a member of the first fire
company known as the famous “Anthony Waynes."
And the first station house was located at Main and
Clinton. The fire equipment included a Jeffries
“gallery" engine, a two-wheel cart, fitted with 500
feet of riveted leather hose.
Morss' wife, the former Susan Clark, taught the first
private school here in 1836, in a remodeled tin shop
on Columbia St
PLAYED ROLE IN
B. Paul Mossman (1870-1960) became a promi-
nent Fort Wayne industrialist, businessman, and
civic leader after the turn of the century. Following
graduation at University of Michigan in 1891, he
became associated with Mossman-Yarnelle Co.,
wholesale hardware distributors.
Mr. Mossman was president of Mossman-Yarnelle,
member of the board of directors of First National
Bank, S. F. Bowser & Co., Fort Wayne Rolling
Mills, and Lincoln National Life. He was also a
trustee of Lindenwood Cemetery, and a Thirty-
Third Degree Scottish Rite Mason.
DIRECTED GAS CO.
AFFAIRS 27 YEARS
Samuel E. Mulholland (1866-1942) was for many years
one of Fort Wayne's leading utility executives. He came
here from Logansport in 1908, as assistant general
manager of the Indiana Lighting Company, now known as
the Gas Company.
Mr. Mulholland became vice-president and general
manager of the Northern Indiana Public Service Com-
pany when the Northern Indiana Gasand Electric Co. and
the Indiana Lighting Co. merged in 1916. He remained
head of the Gas Company until retirement in 1935.
Miss Gertrude A. Muller (1887-1954) was one of
Fort Wayne’s most successful business women. In
1924, in cooperation with her sisters, Mrs. Edward
Cox and Mary K. Muller, she founded the Toidey,
Co., then known as Juvenile Wood Products, Inc.
As president and general manager of the firm from
the day of its organization. Miss Muller continued
throughout her life to originate and market scien-
tific aids for the safety and comfort of the baby.
Products of the Toidey, Co., 4320 Ardmore, are still
sold throughout the world.
Miss Muller attended Fort Wayne public schools
and International Business College. She started her
business career with the former Van Arnam Mfg.
LEADER IN CREATING
Isaac D. Nelson (1810-1891) came to Fort Wayne
in 1836 from Poughkeepskie, N.Y., acquired the
Fort Wayne Sentinel and soon became a com-
munity leader. In 1851, he was elected state rep-
resentative and authored the famous Nelson rail-
road act. He was a Purdue University trustee,
State House Commissioner and aided in organiz-
ing the Wabash railroad.
He was one of 12 incorporators of Lindenwood
Cemetery and its first president, serving from 1860
to 1891. He married Elizabeth Rockhill, daughter
of Mr. and Mrs. William Rockhill, pioneer Fort
Wayne residents. Their son, William Rockhill Nel-
son, was founder of the Kansas City Star.
Isaac Nelson rests in Lindenwood where cemetery
trustees erected an imposing monument to his
Lee J. Ninde, (1874-1953) Fort Wayne native, was
prominent in business here and achieved national
renown in real estate and city planning. He was one
of the organizers of the Fort Wayne Board of Real-
tors as well as the Indiana Real Estate Association.
In 1915 he was vice president of the National Asso-
ciation of Real Estate Boards.
He became widely known as the “dean of city plann-
ing” in Indiana, and was the first chairman of the
Fort Wayne City Planning Commission established
Mr. Ninde was active in promoting some of the city's
outstanding subdivisions including Lafayette Place
and Wildwood Park.
JUSTICE OF PEACE
DURING EARLY ERA
Smallwood Noel, (1785-1862) native of Virginia
settled here in 1824, and became one of the
community's prominent pioneers. He was justice of
the peace and became known as “Squire" Noei. He
was appointed Fort Wayne Postmaster in 1841,
succeeding Henry W. Rudisill.
Mr. Noel taught school in the first one-story brick
school house here. He was one of the founders of
the First Presbyterian Church. His wife was Sophia
C. Ewing, daughter of Col. Alexander Ewing, one of
Fort Wayne's early pioneers. A son, S.V.B. Noel, was
co-founder of the Fort Wayne Sentinel.
Mr. Noel, in 1861, led In organizing the local loyalty
front for the “Union" as the South began its drive for
OF LOCAL BANKS
Joseph D. Nuttman (1816-1890) was engaged foi
a half century in the commercial business of Fort
Wayne. Born In Elizabeth, N.J., he began his busi-
ness career at age sixteen, In a New York mercan-
tile house and later opened stores in Fort Wayne
In 1861, he sold his mercantile business to start
a private bank here. Following enactment of the
national banking laws, Mr. Nuttman and Samuel
Hanna, founded the First National Bank of Fort
Wayne. It was the first national bank chartered in
Indiana. The bank with Mr. Nuttman as president
prospered and grew. In 1882, Mr. Nuttman sold his
bank stock and organized the private bank of Nutt-
man & Co.
Harry C. Offutt, Sr., (1882-1957), was a founder and
president of the Indiana Engineering and Con-
struction Co., Inc. He organized the firm in 1910,
and pioneered the use of reinforced concrete and
built the first building with it in Fort Wayne: the for-
mer Pettit Storage Warehouse.
Among other structures built by Mr. Offutt were the
YMCA, Irene Byron Hospital, South Side High
School, Wayne Knitting Mills, many factories,
bridges and churches.
He was graduated by Penn State College in civil
engineering. He worked for several years as as-
sistant division engineer for the Pennsylvania Rail-
road before organizing his own firm.
Henry G. Olds (1839-1902) was prominently iden-
tified with manufacturing interests in Fort Wayne
before the turn of the century. Born in Auburn, N.Y.,
he moved here with his parents in 1861. His father,
Noble G. Olds, carpenter and machinist, estab-
lished a lumber yard, machine works, and built
Henry Olds in 1881, founded the famous Olds
Wagon Works, building wagons for farmers, freight
lines, lumber and cotton mills. The firm was known
nation wide and became one of the city’s largest
employers of its timo.
The Henry Olds home, at Berry Ewing, now houses
the Mizpah Shrine Temple.
Walters. Palmer (1866-1915) opened Fort Wayne's
first official U.S. Weather Station, May 3, 1911, In
the Gettle (Shoaff) Building at Calhoun and Berry.
He remained head of the local bureau until his
Mr. Palmer was transferred here from the Cheyenne
weather station. He entered the U.S. Weather
Service In Chicago, in 1895. He was graduated by
Michigan Agricultural College, and attended Un-
iversity of Michigan. Before entering the weather
service he taught school at Ypsilanti, Muskegon,
and Spokane, Wash.
Henry C. Paul (1851-1933) native of Fort Wayne,
was a leading industrialist and banker here for
nearly a half century and was credited with hav-
ing, organized and developed some of the city's
principal manufacturing plants.
He was chairman of the board of the former Old-
First National Bank & Trust Company, and presi-
dent of the Old National Bank for twenty-five years.
He was also an organizer and official of public
utility firms including traction lines, gas, telephone
and telegraph services.
Mr. Paul was president of the Fort Wayne Electric
Works of the General Electric Company from 1899
to 1905. He helped in organizing the Fort Wayne
Drug Company and the Fort Wayne Corrugated
IN MUSIC CIRCLES
Mrs. Isabelle McClure Peltier (1881-1961) was a
former leader in Fort Wayne’s Morning Musical,
Community Concerts Association, and served on
the boards of the Civic Symphony and Philhar-
monic Orchestra. And for many years she was
active in many phases of social and civic life in Fort
Mrs. Peltier was a gifted artist and for a time taught
piano. She was a dynamic leader and helped to
bring some of the finest concert artists to Fort
Wayne. She was a graduate of Westminster
Seminary and European School of Music.
Mrs. Peltier’s estate provided large gifts for Fort
Wayne Fine Arts, First Presbyterian and T rinity Epis-
AND CIVIC LEADER
William H.W. Peltier (1869-1941) was a member of Fort
Wayne’s oldest family and for many years a prominent
funeral director. His great grandmother, Angeline
Chapoton, was the first white woman to settle permanent-
ly in Fort Wayne. His grandfather, Louis Peltier, was the
first white child born in the old fort.
For over 25 years, Mr. Peltier was proprietor of the Peltier
Funeral Home, established by his grandfather in 1832.
He relinquished his holdings in the mortuary in 1938.
Arthur H. Perfect (1865-1946) was president and co-
founder of the old A.H. Perfect & Co., wholesale grocers in
Fort Wayne. A native of Delaware County, 0., he came
here in 1896, and with his brothers Harry A. Perfect, T.
Guy Perfect and Henry H. Eavey, purchased the Mc-
Donald & Watt Wholesale Grocery Co., reorganizing it into
the A.H. Perfect & Co..
He helped in the development of the YMCA and YWCA,
and was a Lincoln National Bank director and a member
of the bank’s executive committee.
William L Pettit, Jr., (1874-1929) native of Fort
Wayne, was the founder of the former Pettit
Transfer and Storage Company. The Pettit ware-
house was housed in a six-story reinforced con-
crete building at 414 East Columbia,
it was built in 1909, and remained a prominent
landmark until the firm was relocated in Industrial
Park to make way for part of The Three Rivers Rede-
Mr. Pettit was a graduate of Lehigh University. He
established his warehouse after serving as a sur-
veyor for the Pennsylvania Railroad.
Dr. Miles F. Porter, Sr., (1856-1933) practiced
here for 54 years and became a nationally known
surgeon, pioneering in the advancement of modern
After 1900, he confined his practice exclusively to
surgery and obstetrics. As chief of the old Hope
Hospital medical staff. Dr. Porter built the first
operating room on the hospital grounds, site of
downtown Y.M.C.A. He is known to have per-
formed the first gallbladder operation in the Middle
West and to have performed one of the first ap-
pendectomies in the history of surgery.
He was one of the original organizers of Indiana
University Medical School, served for a time on its
faculty, and was one of the founders of the Ameri-
can College of Surgeons.
SERVED 5 TERMS
AS CITY'S MAYOR
Franklin P. Randall (1812-1892) was known as
Fort Wayne's "Civil War" mayor. Elected in
1859, he served five successive terms with dis-
tinction and honor.
Fie was educated in eastern academies and came
here in 1838 to practice law. From time to time
he held other governmental offices: County school
commissioner, director of the State prison South,
city recorder, city attorney and State senator.
Fie was author of the city charter and designer of
the city seal.
Mr. Randall played an active role in the develop-
ment and building of railroads in this area. In the
latter part of his career he conducted a successful
legal, real estate and insurance business.
PERRY A. RANDALL
HONORED BY CITY
Perry A. Randall, (1847-1916) in a span of 43
years, became a successful Fort Wayne attorney,
home-builder, manufacturer and leader in com-
munity development. Shortly after his death. Fort
Wayne citizens erected in East Swinney Park a
bronze portrait bust of Mr. Randall, commemorat-
ing his many civic achievements.
He began practicing law here in 1 867, and in 1 881 ,
became a partner with William J. Vesey and their
legal firm became most successful. Mr. Randall
also owned and operated the city's first home
building company, the Tri-State Building & Loan
Co. He also owned and operated the old Randall
Hotel, and had extensive holdings in wholesale
FOR MANY YEARS
William C. Rastetter, Sr., (1874-1940) was presi-
dent of the old Louis Rastetter & Sons, Inc., furni-
ture manufacturers, and prominent in Fort Wayne
civic affairs. He was a member and former presi-
dent of the Fort Wayne Public School Board.
Born in Fort Wayne, Mr. Rastetter attended public
grade and high schools here. He played on the first
football team organized in the schools in 1890. He
entered the furniture business with his father as a
Mr. Rastetter was president of the Quest Club;
Rotary Club director; exalted ruler of the Elks; mem-
ber of Third Presbyterian church; affiliated with
Scottish Rite and Mizpah Temple.
MAGNET WIRE CO.
Victor F. Rea (1889-1959) was a prominent Fort
Wayne industrialist and civic leader. He was presi-
dent of Rea Magnet Wire Co., which he founded in
1933. He came here in 1910 to become general
manager of the old Dudio Co., which was merged
with General Cable Co., in 1927.
Mr. Rea was a member of Plymouth Congregational
church and trustee of that church; president of the
YMCA for six years; trustee of the Associated Col-
leges of Indiana, and assisted in fund raising cam-
paigns for Parkview Memorial and Lutheran Hos-
pitals, and United Fund.
Mrs. Bessie Keeran Roberts (1886-1964) was a
prominent Fort Wayne historian, journalist and
school teacher. She was author of “Fort Wayne's Al-
bum", “The Glorious Gate", “A Wayne Scrapbook",
and an unpublished history of Abraham Lincoln's
days In Indiana entitled, “The Frontier Line".
Mrs. Roberts was a reporter for the Evansville
Courier and later society editor for The Fort Wayne
Journal-Gazette. She was graduated by Fort Wayne
High School and Indiana University. She also taught
In Fort Wayne Public Schools.
Mrs. Roberts was the wife of the late Frank Roberts,
former editor of The Journal-Gazette.
CIVIL WAR HERO,
Col, Robert S. Robertson (1839-1906) during the
last half of the 19th century became a successful
lawyer, politician and historian in Fort Wayne. He
was born and educated in North Argyle, N.Y.
In 1861, he joined the Union Army, serving
throughout most of the Civil War, advancing from
private to colonel. He became a staff officer be-
fore the Battle of Gettysburg; was wounded in the
Battle of Spottsylvania Courthouse; participated in
the siege of Petersburg. He received the Congres-
sional Medal of Honor for gallantry in action.
He settled here in 1866, to practice law. Active
in Republican politics, he served as city attorney
and then as lieutenant governor of Indiana.
LEADER IN EARLY
William Rockhill (1793-1865) came here in 1823,
from Burlington, NJ., and for 42 years was one of
the leaders in the commercial development and
political life in Fort Wayne. Soon after his arrival
he acquired a large tract of land in the Broadway
area. It was recorded as Rockhill additions. He
built the historic Rockhill house at Broadway and
Main, which later became a part of St. Joseph's
Rockhill was a member of the first board of county
commissioners; served two terms as state repre-
sentative; was one of the pioneers in the estab-
lishment of the city's public school system; served
as a member of the first city council. He was a
state senator in 1844, and in 1846, was elected
IN FRONTIER DAYS
Henry W. RudisilL (1801-1858) one of Fort
Wayne's early pioneers, helped to lay the founda-
tions of a thriving village. He and his family
arrived here Christmas Day, 1829, from Lancaster,
0., and were escorted to their new home by Samuel
Hanna and Allen Hamilton.
Rudisill assisted in the work of U. S. land agents,
John T. Barr and John McCorkle, and later Rudi-
sill's enterprises included a gristmill, sawmill, tan-
nery and a woolen mill. He was a deeply religious
man, directing the founding of St. Paul's Lutheran
Church as well as Trinity English Lutheran Church.
The pulpit in Trinity Church is a memorial to
Henry W. and Elizabeth Rudisill, provided by their
daughter, Eliza Rudisill, who died in 1929.
Fred J. Rump, (1872-1965) was a general building
contractor here from 1900 until retirement in 1941.
Among the many buildings he erected were the
main office of the Lincoln National Life Insurance
Co., south wing of the Lutheran Hospital, old Wolf &
Dessauer store. First Church of Christ Scientist, ITT
building on East Pontiac, and several buildings in
the G.E. complex.
Mr. Rump, a native of Germany, came to Fort Wayne
in 1888. He was a charter member of Emmaus
Lutheran Church, former chairman of the congre-
gation, past Lutheran Hospital board member, and
former Lindenwood Cemetery board member.
STORE 65 YEARS
Ernst C. Rurode (1838-1925) was founder and president
of the old Rurode Dry Goods Company and for 65 years
one of Fort Wayne’s leading merchants. A native of
Germany, he settled here in 1860, and with John
McDougal and L.B. Root, opened the New York Store, later
to become the Rurode store. Mr. Rurode became sole
owner in 1897.
He was a member of Trinity English Lutheran Church for
50 years and assisted in building old Trinity Church at
Clinton and Wayne.
Dr. Charles A. Schmitz (1809-1887) began prac-
ticing medicine here in 1838, when Fort Wayne was
still a small trading post. He was a successful physi-
cian and cared for his patients until retiring in 1872.
During his career he served on the Fort Wayne
Board of Health, and In 1860 became first presi-
dent of the Allen County Medical Society. Dr.
Schmitz was born in Germany, and received his
medical training at Bonn. Before coming here, he
practiced in Philadelphia. He married Henriette
Lans of Fort Wayne, in 1840. She was also a native of
Dr. And Mrs. Schmitz lived to see Fort Wayne
emerge from the old fort days to the canal era, and
to the establishment of railroads and factories.
Adolph '‘Germany” Schulz (1884-1951) Fort Wayne
native, was one of the great all-time University of
Michigan football players. He attended Fort Wayne
schools, played high school and sandlot football,
enrolled at Michigan in 1904, standing 6-foot-2,
weighing 248, and had the strength of a blacksmith.
He revolutionized center play at Michigan, 1904-
1908, being the first pivot man to drop behind the
line on defense. It was in the era of bone-crushing
power play. Walter Camp named Schulz greatest
center in football history. He was chosen All-Ameri-
can in 1907; placed on Grantland Rice's All-Time
Team, and in 1951, placed on the Associated Press
All-Time College Football Team.
William H. Shambaugh (18564927) native of Allen
County, was one of Fort Wayne's distinguished lawyers,
state representative, and for twelve years Fort Wayne city
While city attorney, Mr. Shambaugh became so efficient
in municipal law that he was chosen to write the 1894 Fort
Wayne Municipal Charter. He served on the Fort Wayne
School Board from 1910 to 1926.
Mr. Shambaugh attended Normal School at Lebanon, 0.,
and Valparaiso University, before entering law practice
here. He was a director and attorney for the Lincoln
National Bank & Trust Co., and counsel for a number of
"BIRD BOY" ART SMITH
BLAZED PATH TO GLORY
Arthur R. "Art" Smith: 1890-1926. He is known
as Fort Wayne's "Bird Boy", originator of sky-
writing, king of the "loop-the-loop", and one of
the Nation's early air daredevils.
Art's career, during which he astounded millions
at home and in the Orient with his flying skill,
came to a tragic end on the night of February 12,
1926. He died when his U.S. Airmail plane fell
in Ohio — not far from Fort Wayne, where at the
age of 16 he built his first plane, and later became
one of America's great pioneer aviators. Smith
Field, the airport north of the city, was named for
ON FIRE FORCE
FOR 50 YEARS
JohnC. Stahlhut(1866-1941) wasamemberof Fort
Wayne’s fire department for 50 years, and fire chief
from 1925 to 1940. He became a fireman at No. 2
Station in 1890, and later promoted to captain. He
was made assistant chief in 1908.
In point of service. Chief Stahihut had the longest
record of any city official at the time of his retire-
ment. The last steam pumper was taken out of ser-
vice in 1920, and it was then Chief Stahihut's as-
signment to retire the department's last team of
He was widely known for his fire fighting ability and
constant attention to up-dating fire equipment.
IN FORT WAYNE
Nathaniel P. Stockridjge, (1820-1896) native of Freeport,
Maine, settled here with his young wife in 1843, and later
became one of the community’s prominent merchants.
From 1843 to 1853, he managed the large H. Durrie & Co.
hardware store, later to become the successful Morgan &
Beach store. Then Mr. Stockbridge acquired the D. W.
Burroughs store, a book and stationery outlet, the first es-
tablishment of its kind in Fort Wayne. His store for 38
years provided books and stationery materials for a grow-
ing town. He was a student of good music and literature.
Mr. Stockbridge was city treasurer In 1848-1849. His re-
sidence at 225 West Wayne Street was for many years a
Fort Wayne landmark.
IN FORT WAYNE
Dr. Charles E. Sturgis (1815-1869) was one of Fort
Wayne’s successful pioneer doctors. He was born
and reared in Queen Anne County, Md. After gra-
duation at Ohio Medical College he resided for a
short time in Richmond, Ind., and Logansport,
before coming to Fort Wayne where he practiced
medicine for 30 years.
He represented Allen County in both houses of the
Indiana legislature, and for many years was presi-
dent of the Fort Wayne School Board. In 1868, Dr.
Sturgis was a delegate to the Democratic National
Convention in New York that nominated Horatio
Seymour for president.
Dr. Sturgis was married to Lavina Ewing, daughter
of Col. and Mrs. Alexander Ewing, early Fort Wayne
LIVED IN FIRST
LOG HOUSE HERE
Mrs. Laura Suttenfield (1795-1886) was born in
Boston, and at age 16, becamethewifeof a dashing
young army officer. Col William Suttenfield. They
were married in Detroit, and in 1814 settled in Fort
Wayne. For a while, they lived Inside the fort, and
were the first to erect a log house here and it stood
near Columbia and Barr. Mrs. Suttenfield was the
first white woman to make Fort Wayne her perma-
Mrs. Suttenfield's sister, Eliza Taylor, became the
wife of Samuel Hanna, prominent Fort Wayne
pioneer. The Suttenflelds helped found the First
Presbyterian Church, and the colonel assisted in
the incorporation of the Village of Fort Wayne In
Mrs. Suttenfield lived to be 91, and many of her rare
recollections of early Fort Wayne have been
Col. Thomas W. Swinney (1803-1875) was one of
Fort Wayne's early settlers. Arriving here in 1822,
from Piketon, Ohio, he found a small settlement
surrounding the old fort. His successful career
began a year later when he made his initial pur-
chase of government land west of town. As his
land holdings increased, he became prominent in
farming, and widely interested in political affairs
of Fort Wayne, state and nation.
He married Lucy Taber here in 1827, daughter
of Capt. Paul Taber, also a prosperous land owner.
Col. Swinney and his wife built the Swinney home-
stead in 1844, and today it houses the priceless
collections of the Allen County-Fort Wayne His-
Herman W. Tapp (1857-1928) was for many years a
prominent construction contractor. His large con-
tracts included the construction of the West Main
Street bridge, State Street boulevard bridge,
Coombs Street bridge, and track elevation work for
the Pennsylvania, Wabash and New York Central
Mr. Tapp was born in Germany, but came here
when a small child. The Tapp residence was loca-
ted at the northeast corner of Hanna and Lewis, now
occupied by American Legion Post 148.
Frank B. Taylor (1860-1938) was an internationally
known geologist. A graduate of Fort Wayne High
School, he attended Harvard, where he studied
geology, mineralogy, chemistry, meterology. He
became a noted geologist and author of 70 articles
on the glacial period, mainly in the region of the
Great Lakes, the Niagara River, southwestern On-
tario and western New England.
He was recognized world-wide for his history of the
Niagara, the falls and the gorge. As a result of his
scientific studies and discoveries, he was given
honors by several geological societies.
Mr. Taylor was active In the Fort Wayne Historical
Society, Fortnightly Club, and Fort Wayne Art School
Theodore F. Thieme ( 1 857-1949) was one of Fort Wayne’s
early prominent manufacturers. He was founder of the
old Wayne Knitting Mills and of the full-fashioned hosiery
industry in America. A native of Fort Wayne, he attended
Concordia College and College of Pharmacy in New York.
He was engaged in the drug store business here for a
short time before opening Wayne Knitting Mills in 1891.
Mr. Thieme with his own funds beautified West Main
parkway from Main Street bridge to Swinney Park. This
was later named Thieme Drive in his honor.
The Thiemes donated large sums for cultural projects
and gave their home at 1026 West Berry for founding of
the Fort Wayne Art School and Museum.
FOUNDER IN 1833
OF THE SENTINEL
Thomas Tigar (1807-1875) was co-founder of The
Fort Wayne Sentinel in 1833, and first local news-
paper editor. For 32 years he recorded events of the
frontier village and its expansion.
He was born in London where he learned a printer’s
trade. Coming to America, he followed his trade.
While at The Indianapolis Journal he met S.V.B.
Noel, also a printer. They were encouraged to start
The Sentinel here by Samuel Hanna and Jesse L.
Williams. The Sentinel prospered, merging with The
News in 1918.
Tigar has been referred to as "the best editorial
writer ever to come to Indiana."
OF TRIER’S PARK
George F. Trier (1876-1942) was a prominent dancing in-
structor and operator of old Trier's Park and amusement
center in West Swinney Park until 1940. Born here, Mr.
Trier attended the Lutheran parochial schools and Inter-
national College. At age 18 he became a stenographer in
the law firm of the late James B. Harper.
Later he became secretary and general manager of the
National Telephone Company with headquarters here,
and then held the same position with the Delaware and
Madison County Telephone Company. Mr. Trier operated
the Mulqueen Dancing Academy at Calhoun and Wash-
ington, and later headed the dancing academy In the old
Minuet Building. He also leased and operated a dancing
pavilion in 1905 at Robison Park.
His success at Robison Park led to his venture in West
Swinney Park where he presented a variety of outdoor
amusements for picnics and celebrations.
J. LyleTucker, Sr., (1885-1950) was president of In-
ternational Business College from 1929 to 1950. A
native of Orono, Ontario, Canada, he came here with
his parents in 1893 and was graduated by Interna-
tional College in 1901.
After graduation he worked for the old White Na-
tional Bank and in 1911, he became bookkeeper for
International College, and In 1920 he was named
treasurer. He was a Rotarian, Scottish Rite Mason,
and member of Mizpah Shrine, Plymouth Congre-
gational Church and Orchard Ridge Country Club.
OF PLANK ROADS
Jesse E. Vermilyea (1809-1846) came to Fort
Wayne in the early 1820’s from Duchess County,
N.Y., to farm and trade with the Indians, and later
became a successful building contractor.
He was one of the original directors of the Fort
Wayne Branch Bank, and contractor on the Wabash
and Erie Canal. He worked with Samuel Hanna in
building the Lima Plank Road for a distance of 50
He also built his famous Vermilyea Mansion in
1839, on his farm near the Village of Aboite. Mr.
Vermilyea also served as Aboite postmaster for
AND CIVIC LEADER
Judge William J. Vesey (1857-1940) was a promi-
nent attorney, jurist and civic leader here for more
than 60 years. Born and educated in Lagrange
county, he taught school briefly, studied law, and
was admitted to the Indiana bar in 1878.
He entered the law firm of Ninde and Ellison, and
then at different times practiced law with Perry A.
Randall, Owen Heaton, Allen J. Vesey and Fred J.
Shoaff. He was judge of Allen Superior Court in
1899-1900. He was attorney for a number of banks
and industries, and an early leader of the Chamber
PASTOR AT TRINITY
FOR HALF CENTURY
Rev. Samuel Wagenhals, D.D., (1843-1920) served
as pastor of Trinity English Lutheran Church here
from 1868 to 1920 — an unparalled record of
Christian service to the church and community.
Born in Lancaster, 0., he was educated at Capitol
University, Columbus, 0., and Theological Semi-
Enlisting as a private and becoming a lieutenant,
Wagenhals served with the Union Army throughout
the Civil War. After the war he completed his
seminary education, and became pastor of Trinity,
June 10, 1868. The church had a membership
then of 92. His long pastorate was one of con-
tinued progress and congregational growth.
Rev. Wagenhals was one of the founders of Chi-
cago Lutheran Theological Seminary.
NAMED FOR HIM
Louis C. Ward (1878-1931) was one of Fort
Wayne's outstanding school administrators. He
became instructor at Central High in 1907, its prin-
cipal, 1915, superintendent of schools, 1920 to
1931. Under his dynamic leadership, new schools
were erected, and the system climbed scholastical-
ly, ranking with the best in the Nation.
Mr. Ward is buried in Lindenwood as are other
noted Hoosier educators including Margaret M.
MacPhail, John S. Irwin, and Chester T. Lane.
James B. White, (1835-1897) wealthy Fort Wayne
merchant, Civil War veteran, congressman and
banker, settled here in 1854. He came from Scot-
land. The last leg of his journey was by packet
boat over the Wabash-Erie Canal from Toledo.
He began work as a tailor with Nirdlinger and Op-
penheimer's clothing store. He married Maria
Brown of Fort Wayne, and in 1 859, opened his own
tailoring shop. In 1861, he sold his prosperous
business to join the Union Army. Serving as a
captain, he fought at Pittsburg Landing and was
wounded at Shiloh.
After the war. White formed a firm which later be-
came the successful White Fruit House, a super-
market of its time. Active in politics, he served
one term as U. S. Congressman.
Harry M. Williams (1866-1942) was a widely known
and highly respected newspaperman in Indiana
during a long career in journalism. He also served
as a state senator from Allen County for a four-year
term, having been elected in 1930.
He was long indentified with Fort Wayne news-
papers. He was best remembered as editorial writer
for the Journal-Gazette, of the Evening Press and
managing editor of the Evening Sentinel.
As an editorial writer, Mr. Williams was known for
his wide knowledge of politics, history and
literature. His son, the late Park D. Williams, was
also a prominent Journal-Gazette reporter and
Jesse L. Williams (1807-1886) was educated in
Cincinnati, and at 21, began a highly successful
civil engineering career, surveying and construct-
ing canal systems in Ohio and Indiana. In the mid
1800's he became one of the Nation's foremost
engineers in building railroads in the Midwest
and far west.
He came here as construction engineer for the
Wabash-Erie Canal. In 1836, he was appointed the
State's chief engineer of all canal routes in In-
diana. He served as governor director of the Union
Pacific Railway under Presidents Lincoln, Johnson
and Grant. It was Williams who established the
best location and lowest grade through the Rockies
for this railroad.
LED IN FOUNDING
OLD W&D STORE
Samuel Wolf, (1868-1960) born and educated
here, was an outstanding and highly respected
businessman, financier and former merchant, and
contributed much to Fort Wayne as a civic leader.
Mr. Wolf was co-founder with Myron E. Dessauer
in 1896 of the old Wolf 8t Dessauer store, prede-
cessor of L. S. Ayres downtown store. He led the
way in new merchandising methods and W&D
became an institution in Fort Wayne— a pleasant
place to shop and dine. He sold his interest in the
store in the early 1920s and then devoted himself
to financial and real estate interests.
SERVED AS NURSE
IN UNION ARMY
Mrs. Helena Wolff, (1836-1925) was a well known
Union Army nurse and one of Fort Wayne's best
known Civil War personalities. For over two score
years, she was a familiar figure at all public pa-
triotic assemblies held in honor of Civil War heroes.
Mrs. Wolff was assigned to nursing the wounded at
military hospitals in Cincinnatti, Louisville, and
Nashville, Tenn. In recognition of her services, she
was publicly received by President Lincoln and
Gen. Grant. Gen. Logan gave her a citation for
bravery in caring for the wounded.
AS FIRST MAYOR
George W. Wood (1808-1871) newspaper pub-
lisher, politician and businessman, had a promi-
nent part in the early development of Fort Wayne.
He came here in 1836, joining The Sentinel as a
printer and a year later was its publisher. He sold
The Sentinel in 1840, and became publisher of
The Fort Wayne Times.
He was elected Fort Wayne's first mayor in 1840,
and re-elected in 1841. In 1849, he was appointed
by President Fillmore to head the Fort Wayne land
office. In 1855, he sold his newspaper holdings to
John W. Dawson, and then served as administra-
tor of the vast Samuel Hanna estate.
IN G. E. GROWTH
James J. Wood, ( 1 856-1 928) General Electric con-
sulting engineer here for 38 years, was one of the
Nation's foremost inventors. He began his career
at Branford, Conn., at age 16, inventing a hori-
zontal steam engine. Later he invented the "Wood"
electrical system, playing an important role in
early development of General Electric.
He held 240 patents, and was credited with de-
veloping the dynamo for flood lights first used on
the Statue of Liberty. His picture hangs in the
Hall of Fame in New York City along with Edison
Mrs. Clara Porter Yarnelle (1884-1966) during her
long and active career was one of Fort Wayne's out-
standing community leaders. She was president of
the YWCA, College Club, Visiting Nurses League
and Washington School PTA.
Mrs. Yarnelle was also active In the Community
Concert Association, American Association of Uni-
versity Women, Fort Wayne Art School, Needlework
Guild, Fortnightly Club and First Presbyterian
Church. Her work with mothers of young children
resulted in formation of several Yarnelle Child
Study Clubs. She attended Fort Wayne public
schools and received a B.A. degree at Bryn Mawr.
LEADER IN HEAVY
Edward F. Yarnelle, (1850-1938) was one of Fort Wayne's
outstanding business leaders and philanthropists. He
came to Fort Wayne in 1878, and his first job was as clerk
in Foster Bros. Dry Goods Store. Then he joined Coombs &
Co., wholesale heavy hardware. In 1882, Mr. Yarnelleand
Frank Alderman purchased the A. D. Brandriff hardware
firm on East Columbia.
William E. Mossman bought Mr. Alderman's interest in
1885 and it became known as Mossman & Yarnelle Com-
pany. Mr. Yarnelle was president and later chairman of
the board. He was also associated with other local busi-
nesses, was active in church, music, and civic affairs. He
became a Thirty-Third degree Scottish Rite Mason in
He was a member of the City Park Board and donated to
the park system a tract of land at the Jefferson Street ap-
proach to Swinney Park. He also gave "Camp Yarnelle" at
Winona Lake to the YWCA.
LT. JOHN T. YOUNG
LAST G.A.R. VETERAN
Lt. John T. Young (1847-1941) was the last surviving
member of the G.A.R. in Allen County. He was twice
commander of Bass-Lawton Post, and a resident of Fort
Wayne for 65 years. He enlisted in the Union Army in
March, 1862, with Company D, 118th Infantry in Angola,
and served with the Army of Tennessee at Cumberland
Gap, Greenville, Williams Fort, and Strawberry Plains.
Lt. Young was a railroader during the daysofthe old wood
burning type locomotives. He also served as engineer at
the post office.
Judge Allen Zollars (1839-1909) served with dis-
tinction as a lawyer, state legislator and judge here
for nearly a half century.
He was born In Licking County, 0., and graduated by
Dennison University and Michigan University Law
school. He entered law practice here in 1867, and
was married to Minnie Ewing, formerly of Lan-
Judge Zollars became judge of Allen Superior Court
upon Its establishment in 1877. He was elected
State Supreme Court judge in 1882, and later
returned to Fort Wayne to build a large law practice.
The Zollars rest In Lindenwood.
CIVIL WAR HERO,
Col. Charles A. Zollinger (1838-1893) Civil War
hero, former sheriff of Allen County, was elected
mayor of Fort Wayne in 1873. By re-election every
two years, he held this office continuously for
twelve years. Upon retirement from office, he left
a balance of $133,000, in the city's treasury, and
a record of impressive municipal accomplishments.
While in the Union Army, Col. Zollinger fought at
Murfreesboro, Shiloh, and was with Sherman dur-
ing the Atlanta campaign. He also took part in the
battles of Franklin and Nashville, and the last
conflict of the rebellion at Kinston, N. C. After
the close of the war, he assisted in organizing the
tovyn of New Haven and served as first president
of its board of trustees.
FORT WAYNE. INDIANA
Francis S. Aveline
Harry W Baals
Paul Frank Baer
Judge Peter B. Bailey
Myron H Barbour
Edward A. Barnes
James M. Barrett, Sr.
John H. Bass
Col. Sion S. Bass
Solomon D. Bayless
Henry A. Beadell
S. B. Bechtel
Mrs. Jessie Maria Bond
James W. Borden
Sylvanus F Bowser
Cong. Samuel Brenton
Dr. William H. Brooks
Judge William W. Carson
David H. Colerick
Margaret M. Colerick
David M. Comparet
Louis F Curdes
Frank H. Cutshall
John W Dawson
Hugh M. Deihl
John H. Doswell
D. Burns Douglass
John B. DuBois
Dr. Herman A. Duemling
Alfred R Edgerton
Joseph K. Edgerton
William S. Edsall
Miss Julia E. Emanuel
Charles W. Ewing
Col. George W. Ewing
Capt. Asa Fairfield
Lucien R Ferry
Robert M. Feustel
Oscar G. Foellinger
Louis Fortriede, Sr.
Col. David N. Foster
Samuel M. Foster
John B. Franke
Mrs. Eliza E. George
Dr. George W. Gillie
Capt. John N. Godown
William F Graeter
Jesse A. Grice
William M. Griffin
Bert J. Griswold
Herbert J. Grosvenor
John Earl Groth, Sr.
Olaf N. Guldlin
Edward A. K. Hackett
Arthur E Hall
Emerine Jane Hamilton
Gottlieb H. Heine
Henry J. Herbst
Dr. Victor H. Hilgemann
Edward G. Hoffman
John Hough, Jr.
Fred S. Hunting
Dr. Merchant W. Huxford
Max Irmscher, Sr.
Samuel D. Jackson
Fremont L. Jones
Miss Margaret Ann Keegan
Dr. Isaac Knapp
Erastus B. Kunkle
Chester T. Lane
Ross E Lockridge, Sr.
Martin H. Luecke
John G. Maier
J. Ross McCulloch
Ronald T. McDonald
Oliver R Morgan
Judge John Morris
Samuel L. Morris
Samuel S. Morss
B. Paul Mossman
Samuel E. Mulholland
Miss Gertrude A. Muller
Issac D. Nelson
Lee J. Ninde
Joseph D. Nuttman
Henry C. Offutt, Sr.
Henry G. Olds
Walter S. Palmer
Henry C. Paul
Isabelle McClure Peltier
William H. W. Peltier
Arthur H. Perfect
William L. Pettit, Jr.
Dr. Miles E Porter, Sr.
Eranklin P Randall
Perry A. Randall
Lake View Plac
Lake View Plac
William C. Rastetter, Sr.
Victor E Rea
Mrs. Bessie Keeran Roberts
Col Robert S. Robertson
Henry W Rudisill
Fred J. Rump
Ernest C. Rurode
Dr. Charles A. Schmitz
A. “Germany” Schulz
William H. Shambaugh
Arthur R. Smith
John C. Stahlhut
Nathanial R Stockbridge
Dr. Charles E. Sturgis
Col. Thomas W. Swinney
Herman W. Tapp
Frank B. Taylor
Theodore F Thieme
George F Trier
J. Lyle Tucker, Sr.
Jesse E. Vermilyea
Judge William J. Vesey
Rev. Samuel Wagenhals
Louis C. Ward
James B. White
Harry M. Williams
Jesse L. Williams
Mrs. Helena Wolff
George W Wood
James J. Wood
Mrs. Clara Porter Yarnelle
Edward F Yarnelle
Lt. John Young
Col. Charles A. Zollinger
IfkW'-' f ''rj!'?* I /xhfi
' ■ ■ '/ i .orci.r
. • ■„ > i
, -./ ■ . , : /